The Good News and the Bad

IMG_7051I yak a lot about bike prep and maintenance in my BRC and BRC II classes, but when it comes to my V-Strom I’ve been a slacker. I barely ride the bike anymore and when I do it’s short and uncomplicated. Until this week.

A friend gave me a couple of days notice that he was coming for a visit and during that short notice we decided I’d ride back with him for part of his return trip to Santa Fe. I did a really brief look-over on the bike and, apparently, missed a ton of semi-serious to serious stuff. At first, I figured I’d just ride a day with him and turn back. A day turned into two and two turned into about 2,000 miles round-trip.

On the way out, I did a half-assed job of babying my near-worn-out tires and pushed them a bit too hard. Along the way, I noticed a few other things that needed work or replacing. A busted front fender bracket. A bit of play in the front axle. Thin rear brake pads. Engine oil a little past its time. All stuff I would have normally worked through if I’d been planning a trip, but stuff that caught me out on the road when I let myself get carried away on some one else’s trip.

When I started writing this bit, I was about 325 miles from home and torn between doing about 100 extra miles of sightseeing or slogging it carefully home the last day. I discovered some great roads on this trip and since I made it home unscathed it will have been one of the most fun trips I’ve made through Nebraska and South Dakota.

So, here comes the trip report.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

